Who We Are Our Schools Learning & Wellbeing Professional Learning Employment Policies & Publications News Centre
  • Aboriginal Communities in the Diocese of Sale

    The Diocese of Sale serves three main Aboriginal groups and territories:

    Kurnai (Ker-nye) – The Kurnai People

    The Gunnai/Kurnai nation bordered the lands of the Bidawal people to the east around Cann River and Mallacoota. The Kulin Nation occupied lands to the west, where Melbourne now stands.   The Gunnai/Kurnai nation is made up of five major clans:

    • Bratowooloong people in South Gippsland
    • Brayakuloong people around the current site of Sale
    • Brabuwooloong people in Central Gippsland
    • Tatungoloong people near Lakes Entrance on the coast
    • Krauatungalung people near Snowy River

    Woiwurrung (Woy-wur-rung) - The Wurundjeri People

      The Wurundjeri people’s territory extended from north of the Great Dividing Range, east to Mount Baw Baw, south to Mordialloc Creek and west to Werribee River. To the east, their lands bordered the Gunnai/Kurnai people in Gippsland and the Bunurong people to the south on the Mornington Peninsula.

    Boonerwrung (Bun-er-rong) - The Boonerwrung People

    The Bunurong territory extended along the northern, eastern and southern shorelines of Port Phillip, the Mornington Peninsula, Western Port and its two main islands, as well as land to the south-east down to Wilsons Promontory. This territory was known to the Kulin clans as the marr ne bek or ‘excellent country’ as it had an abundance of food resources. As descendents from Lohan, Bunurong people were the custodians of the marr ne bek country. Kulin people believed that those from clans outside this country were required to undergo a specific ritual to enable them to enter the area without harm.

    To view the Aboriginal Comunities associated with the Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Sale click the following link Traditional Owners of the Land


    Victorian Map